Highlights: Race 28 2018 ITM Auckland SuperSprint

Shane van Gisbergen provisionally closed on Scott McLaughlin in the Supercars Championship, after beating his title rival to victory in the ITM Auckland SuperSprint opener. The Red Bull Holden Racing Team driver crossed the line first at Pukekohe after passing McLaughlin on-track twice, and despite being handed a late five-second penalty. A post-race investigation cleared Shane van Gisbergen of a pitlane wheelspin breach at Pukekohe, but his Race 28 victory remained subject to a protest from DJR Team Penske. However Shane van Gisbergen remains the winner of Saturday's ITM Auckland SuperSprint race, following an unsuccessful protest by DJR Team Penske.